

2 February 2020

Dr. Francois Retief North-West University (Potchefstroom Campus) Hoffman Street Potchefstroom North West Province 2531 South Africa

Dear Francois,

As Chair of the 2020 Awards Committee of the International Association for Impact Assessment (IAIA), it is my great privilege to inform you on behalf of the Committee and the IAIA Board of Directors that you have been selected as the recipient of **IAIA's 2020 Individual Award**. This award will be presented at IAIA's annual conference event in Seville, Spain (IAIA20; Smartening Impact Assessment: Science, Technology, and Governance Advancements Toward Efficiency and Effectiveness, 26-29 May 2020).

The IAIA Individual Award acknowledges personal contribution to the discipline of impact assessment. It recognizes major achievement and advancement in theory and/or practice over a period of time at an international level.

The Committee selected you for this honor because of your ongoing and sustained contributions to impact assessment academia, your leadership in South Africa's ongoing impact assessment practice, and for adding a 'fun' factor to the very serious world of IA professionals. Your collaborative efforts with IAIA and the multitudes of publications that you have contributed, as well as the many years of training new professionals, have added to your influence in the field of impact assessment.

I take this opportunity to give you my personal congratulations. I hope you are able to participate in the meeting in Seville, as the recipient of IAIA's Individual Award and as an avid delegate to the concurrent sessions and social events. The members of the Awards Committee will consider it an honor to congratulate you in person.

In recognition of this award, IAIA is pleased to offer you **one waived registration fee for participation at IAIA20**. To make arrangements for your participation, please contact Sue Quinn at IAIA Headquarters (<u>info@iaia.org</u>) as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Luis Sanchez IAIA Awards Committee 2020

cc: Luis Montañez Cartaxo, IAIA President David Bancroft, IAIA Executive Director Members of the 2020 Awards Committee