Geography and Environmental Management Staff

   Dr Adeline Ngie

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3551
  Building 8, Room 3, Vanderbijlpark
  PhD (EM - UJ), MSc (EM - UJ), BSc Hons. (Geo. – UJ), BSc (Env. Sci. – UB)
  GIS and Remote Sensing applications in Agric. Studies & Urban climates

  Dr Brigitte Language

  Senior Lecturer
  Building E4, Room G35, Potchefstroom
  Physical Geography; Geomorphology; Atmospheric Science; Air Pollution; Climate Change

   Ms Carli Steenkamp

  +27 18 299 1505
  Building E6, room G48, Potchefstroom
  M. Env. Man.
  Environmental Assessment, energy management, environmental management.

   Prof Chris Munyati

  Associate Professor
  +27 18 389 2325
  Environmental assessment; Vegetation analysis using Remote Sensing

  Prof Christo Coetzee

  +27 18 299 1630
  Building E4, Room 112, Potchefstroom
  PhD Development and Management (Disaster Risk Management)
  Disaster Risk Studies; Disaster Resilience; Disaster Risk Governance and Urban Disaster Risk

  Prof Claudine Roos

  +27 83 204 8703
  Building E4, Room G17, Potchefstroom
  PhD Environmental Sciences
  Environmental Management and Waste Management in Protected Areas

  Mr Danie Boshoff

  +27 16 910 3558
  Building A22, Vanderbijlpark
  MSc Geography
  Fire science and examining fire events from a geographical perspective.

  Dr Delia Ah Goo

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 16 910 3457
  Building A22, Room G16, Vanderbijlpark
  PhD Geography
  Urban regeneration (gentrification and displacement), urban informality, sustainable livelihoods.

  Prof Dewald van Niekerk

  +27 18 299 1634
  Building D1, Room G09, Potchefstroom
  PhD Disaster Risk Reduction
  Disaster risk governance, resilience building, complexity and complexity theory, anticipatory governance, building institutional capacities for disaster risk reduction, and transdisciplinary disaster risk reduction

  Prof Dirk Cilliers

  +27 18 299 1589
  Building D1, Room G14, Potchefstroom
  Environmental management; Conservation planning; Spatial analysis

   Dr Joseph Adesina

  Building E4 room G56
  Atmospheric Research

   Mr Emile Hoffmann

  +27 16 910 3559
  Building 8, room G04, Vanderbijlpark
  M.Sc. in Environmental Sciences
  GIS, Hydrology, Environmental impact studies

  Dr Henno Havenga

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 285 4001
  Building E4, Room G55, Potchefstroom
  PhD Environmental Science
  Anthropogenic Impact on Storms; Ambient Air Pollution; Climatology; Remote Sensing; GIS

  Prof Livhuwani Nemakonde

  +27 18 299 1671
  Building E4, Room G49, Potchefstroom
  PhD Development and Management
  Disaster risk governance, climate change adaptation, systems thinking and building community resilience.

  Prof Lobina Palamuleni

  +27 71 033 8984
  Building A12, Room 101, Mahikeng
  PhD Geography and Environmental Management
  Applied Remote Sensing and Water Resources Management

   Ms Namhla Mkiva

  Principal Lab Technician
  +27 18 389 2327
  Building A12, Room 112, Mahikeng
  MSc (NWU)
  Climate variability and change especially extreme events, Mirco & synoptic climatology, climate-surface process interactions

  Ms Ncobile Nkosi

  +27 60 771 9765
  Building A12, Room 112, Mahikeng
  MSc Environmental Sciences
  Air quality, Geomorphology, Water borne diseases, Climate change and science communication

   Ms Nisa Ayob

  +27 18 389 2812
  Building A12, Room 110, Mahikeng
  GIS, Severe Weather and Climatology

  Dr Nomfundo Sibiya

  Building E4, Room G41, Potchefstroom
  PhD Geography and Environmental Studies
  Climate change adaptation, community resilience building, rural and urban livelihoods

  Prof Roelof Burger

  +27 18 299 4269
  Building D1, Room G15, Potchefstroom
  Atmospheric Science

  Prof Sheldon Strydom

  Building A12, Mahikeng
  PhD Agrometeorology
  Climate trends and variability and associated impacts on various sectors (e.g., agricultural sector) and phenomena (e.g., wildfire activity).

  Prof Stuart Piketh

  Director: School for Geo- and Spatial Sciences
  +27 18 299 1582
  Building E4, Room G36, Potchefstroom
  Atmospheric Research

  Mr Tshepiso Seobi

  +27 18 299 4299
  Building E4, Room G22, Potchefstroom
  MSc (Environmental Soil Science)  
  Environmental Soil Science, Soil Biology, Agronomy, Land Use Planning

   Ms Vernice Botha

  Secretary / Administrative officer
  +27 18 299 1511
  Building E4, room G46, Potchefstroom