Environmental Management


Sub-programme leader: Mr Phathu Mukwevho (Phathu.Mukwevho@nwu.ac.za)



The Environmental Management sub-program investigates various aspects of sustainable development and the use of environmental management approaches and instruments in the public and the private sector. 


Our vision:

Our vision is to “Influence environmental management policy and practice through relevant, sound science towards benefitting South African society”.


Our strategic goals: 

Our aim is to establish a sub-programme (research group) that is visible, recognized and relevant by focusing on five strategic goals:

  1. Establishing new and maintaining existing networks and partnerships;
  2. Pursuing collaborative efforts towards securing funding (with a focus on student bursaries and other funding needs);
  3. Growing our Masters programme portfolio (with specialisation fields), while ensuring the delivery of good quality of students, and maintaining an acceptable throughput;
  4. Growing our PhD and MSc. student numbers and pursuing the establishment of post-doctoral position(s); and
  5. Continuously improving our research profile and research outputs (peer reviewed publications and projects).


Our research focus:

Research is focused within the following major thrusts i.e.: performance of environmental assessment (quality, effectiveness, cost and efficiency), environmental monitoring and performance, environmental policy and law, waste management, ecological water requirements and integrated water resource management, air quality and climate change, and conservation leadership and futures thinking.


UESM staff:

  • Dr. Reece Alberts
  • Prof. Dirk Cilliers
  • Dr. Leandri Kruger
  • Dr Wynand Malherbe
  • Mr Theunis Meyer
  • Mr Jurie Moolman
  • Mr Phathu Mukwevho
  • Prof Francois Retief
  • Dr Claudine Roos
  • Dr Manna Stander
  • Mrs Carli van Niekerk
  • Miss Corene van der Merwe


Extraordinary staff:

  • Dr Mariske van Aswegen
  • Prof Jos Arts (University of Groningen)
  • Prof Alan Bond (University of East Anglia)
  • Prof Thomas Fischer (University of Liverpool)
  • Prof Linda Godfrey (CSIR)
  • Prof Nick King
  • Prof Angus Morrison-Saunders (Edith Cowan University)
  • Prof Suzan Oelofse (CSIR)
  • Prof Jennifer Pope (University of Cambridge)
  • Prof Luke Sandham

Research Groups

Protected Areas Research Group (PARG)

Led by Prof Francois Retief

Masters Programme Video Links

The sub-programme offers course-work Masters’ programmes in Environmental Management, with specialisation in Ecological Water Requirements, Waste Management, Conservation Leadership and Air Quality and Climate Change.



Last updated: 30 August 2022