3MC School on Biomathematics

3MC Presents:

African Mathematical School on Mathematical Modeling in Biology

20-28 March 2023, NWU, Potchefstroom








Disclaimer: Opinions expressed and conclusions arrived at are those of the author and are not necessarily to be attributed to the CoE-MaSS.





AMU logo


Summary: In March 2023 we hope to welcome you for a fully in-person research school on biomathematics in which world class lecturers present the latest modeling techniques that are used in studying biological phenomena. The techniques are presented at a theoretical level as well as in the context of applications. Tutorials and computer lab sessions will be used to familiarize the participants with relevant software and to give them hands-on experience.

The research school will be followed by an international conference in which the lecturers as well as many other international experts present their latest findings on modelling in the biological sciences. For more information on the conference, please click here.



Invited lecturer:

  • Prof Julien Arino (Manitoba University, Canada)

  • Prof Jacek Banasiak (University of Pretoria, South Africa)
  • Prof Michael Li (University of Alberta, Canada)

  • Prof Rachid Ouifki (North West University, South Africa)

  • Prof Stephanie Portet (Manitoba University, Canada)

  • Prof Leonard Santana (North West University, South Africa) 

  • Prof James Watmough (University of New Brunswick, Canada)


Slides and other study material: 



Program booklet: Please click here for the program booklet. 


Registration deadline: Extended to 31 January


Coordinator of the school

  • Dr Patrick Mimphis Tchepmo Djomegni (North West University, South Africa)
  • Prof Sophie Dabo-Niang (University of Lille, France, Chair of EMS-CDC)

Scientific committee

  • Prof Sanne ter Host (North West University, South Africa), Chair
  • Prof Julien Arino (Manitoba University, Canada)
  • Michael Chapwanya (University of Pretoria, South Africa)
  • Prof Sibusiso Moyo (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)

Local organizing committee

  • Dr Patrick M T Djomegni (North West University, South Africa), Chair
  • Dr Farai Chirove (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Prof Sanne ter Host (North West University, South Africa)
  • Prof Ilse Schoeman (Northwest University, South Africa)
  • Prof Clovis Oukouomi Noutchie (North West University, South Africa)
  • Dr Thama Duba (University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa)
  • Dr Mihaja Ramanantoanina (University of Pretoria, South Africa)
  • Dr Gabriel Magalakwe (North West University, South Africa)
  • Dr Herve M Tenkam (North West University, South Africa)