Microbiology Staff

  Dr Deidré Van Wyk

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2134
  20418876@nwu.ac.za
  Building A12-B, Room G02, Mahikeng
  

PhD Environmental Sciences


  Molecular Microbiology with a Specific Focus on Next-generation Sequencing & Genomics

   Mr Glenville Fransman

  Senior Administrative Assistant
  +27 18 299 2329
  Glenville.Fransman@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 219, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom

   Dr Kgaugelo Lekota

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 2381
  37747959@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 212, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  PhD (University of Pretoria)
  Microbiology, Molecular Biology and Genomics

  Ms Khomotso Mongadi

  Senior lecturer
  018 389 2639
  21407398@nwu.ac.za
  Building A10-B, Room G31, Mahikeng
  

M.Sc.


  Molecular Microbiology, Soil-Plant-Microbe Interactions and Microbial Biotechnology

   Prof Carlos Bezuidenhout

  Professor
  +27 18 299 2315
  Carlos.Bezuidenhout@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 212, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  PhD
  Aquatic microbiology, Water, Sanitation, Health and Energy

   Prof Sarina Claassens

  Associate professor
  +27 18 299 2368
  sarina.claassens@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 215, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  

BSc, M Env Sci, PhD


  Soil microbiology, microbial ecology

   Prof Olubukola Oluranti Babalola

  Professor and Director: Food Security and Safety
  +27 18 389 2568
  olubukola.babalola@nwu.ac.za
  Building A4, Office G06, Mahikeng
  BSc (Honours), MSc, PhD Microbiology
  Soil-Plant-Microbe Interactions, Microbial Biotechnology

   Dr Lesego Molale-Tom

  Subject Chair and Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 2313
  20318634@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 129, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  PhD
  Molecular biology

   Dr Charlotte Mienie

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 299 2319
  charlotte.mienie@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 216, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  PhD
  Molecular biology

   Prof Collins Njie Ateba

  Professor in Microbiology
  +27 18 389 2247
  collins.ateba@nwu.ac.za
  Building A12, Room G14, Mahikeng
  BSc Microbiology and Medical Laboratory Technology, BSc Hons
  Water, sanitation and health; food safety and bacteriophage biocontrol

  Dr Hazel Tumelo Mufhandu

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 389 2416
  hazel.mufhandu@nwu.ac.za
  Building A12, Office G38, Mahikeng Campus
  

BSc (Hons), MSc, PhD


  Medical Sciences - Virology, Molecular Biology

  Prof Jaco Bezuidenhout

  Associate professor
  +27 18 299 2311
  10926542@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 218, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  

PhD


  Data analysis, Antimicrobials in water

   Prof Rasheed Adeleke

  Professor
  +27 18 299 2495
  rasheed.adeleke@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 215, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom
  

B.Sc; M. Env Sci; PhD


  Microbial ecology, Soil microbiology, Agricultural Biotechnology, Renewable energy

   Mr Abraham Mahlatsi

  Senior Laboratory Technician
  +27 18 299 2327
  abram.mahlatsi@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 211, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom

   Ms Lee Chenhaka

  Laboratory technician
  +27 18 299 2327
  lee.chenhaka@nwu.ac.za
  Building E6, Office 211, Potchefstroom Campus, Potchefstroom

   Mrs Sarah Nyelimane

  Senior Laboratory Help
  +27 18 389 2198
  sarah.nyelimane@nwu.ac.za